Maya Choudhury, famous for her role as (Oja) Sarla in Basantagi Nongallamdai and Kunti in 21st Century Kunti has been in the industry for more than a decade and has wooed many fans with her beauty, grace and sophisticated acting. Married to L. Manikanta with two children, she still rocks the screen even in the role of a mother as Shija in Tomthin Shija. She marked her journey with the Film “Meichak” and winning Miss Manipur 2nd Runners Up title simultaneously. People just fall in love with her from then on. However, she married short afterward, creating a web of concerned over the crowd of cine goer regarding her career. Fortunately, for all of us, her in-laws were as cool as her, supporting her in what and who she was. Maya shares her trials and tabulations in her journey till date.

Q. How would you introduce Maya Choudhury as?

Maya: Well! I would introduce myself as someone who is straight forward, simple and honest person.

Q. You were crowned Miss Manipur 2nd Runners up 1998, how do you feel when you look back to those days?

Maya: I feel nostalgic, obviously (laughs). I was crowned the 2nd Runners up with other five titles. I was a teenage with no fear at all, I feel a bit scared thinking about it. I was pretty confident back then. It’s not like I am not confident right now but to go on to be a part of Miss Manipur at 18 was a big thing back then.

Q. When and how did you enter the film industry?

Maya: I was cast in the celluloid film Meichak before Miss Manipur happened. I took part in a show for Sericulture, which made me stand in the limelight. Then eventually I was a part of Tom Sharma’s photoshoot, which proved to a blessing as I got the project of Meichak. Back then films were produced in much lesser number so public tends to know each and every person involved in a film so they supported me through the journey of the Miss Manipur pageant too. I did 3 other celluloid films before I got married.

Q. When you got married, did you expect to continue your career as an actor?
Maya: (Laughs) I really didn’t expect to be associated with film industry again. But I would say I am very fortunate to be blessed with such a family who were open – minded and happily supported my career. It was surprising for me, you know, when a project came my way, they made the decision for me; the decision that I’d take any day. They agreed, on my behalf, to a part of the project. i was thrilled!

Q. How do you manage your family and work?

Maya: I feel that when you do something you love you can always manage in however and whatever way you can! It’s true that home management is quite hectic and tough, with a baby is like icing on the top. It was quite difficult at times but I managed in every way I could. For instance, I used to wash my clothes late during the night (Laughs). Moreover, I have this principle of reaching the shooting spot on time not more than 5 minutes late so you can say it was quite difficult, but now I am used to it.

Q. You’ve been in the industry for quite a few years; can you tell the difference you find earlier days and recent times?

Maya: yes! Of course there is. Earlier it was celluloid film, meaning it was more expensive and seldom double takes. In order to perfect the acting and scenes at one go, we had workshops and long hour practices. But recently, with digital technology, it has become easier for both actors and producers. I find no rehearsals and workshops anymore. I feel it has made us want to take things easy. Moreover, we used to learn all the dialogues and deliver it but now well! There is always someone to prompt our lines. I do hope this doesn’t temper our dedication and work effort.

Q. You were a lead actor but now you’re playing the role of a mother, how does that make you feel?

Maya: Ummm… I love taking those roles. I always had this notion in my mind to play a mother someday down the line; also being a mother myself, I think I fit this role and love it too.

Q. But then again, those actors who acted alongside you are still playing the lead role, what’s your take on that?

Maya: hahaha I have no grudge against them. I feel there will always be a difference between actors and actresses. You see, I gave birth to two children and they haven’t (LOL). In many ways, even when I do not stereotype, there will always be a difference. It’s not just for Manipur, this happens all over the globe.

Q. Of all the roles you’ve done, which one is your favourite?

Maya: I always read and study all my characters thoroughly before taking up the projects so there has never been partiality among my kids (laughs) but if I have to really choose, I’d say my role as Sarla in Basantagi Nongallamdai.

Q. Yes! That film was phenomenal and people truly loved you in that film, how did you feel on that thought?

Maya: Yes! It made me realised how much public can raise you when you do good works. It me realised the value of my work in some ways.

Q. Has there been role which was very challenging to work upon?

Maya: I would say it happened in Kunti. It was a bit challenging taking up that role and portraying it in perfect form.

Q. Even with lots of good works, criticism must have come in different ways, positive as well as negative, how do you deal with both of it?

Maya: Well! I don’t let both the sides of criticism consume me. Yes, I do take in what’s important and utilise it for my improvement. With time, I have learnt how to ignore what needs to be ignored.

Q. According to you, which qualities are necessary to become a successful actor?

Maya: I feel one need to be disciplined, a principle of our own and respect for the profession.

Q. What advice would you like to give to the aspiring actors?

Maya: I would strongly advice them to respect this profession and not do it as a kind of time pass. I would like them to have a principle of their own and go by it; dedication, hard work, punctuality are some morals which need to kept on ground when they pursue any profession not only acting. I certainly do not believe in the idea that our value increase when we make people wait for us and would advice not to make people wait on them. Lastly, I would advise them to study and learn the character they’re taking thoroughly beforehand.

Q. Lastly, a message to your well wishers.

Maya: I would say I am very thankful and love my well wishers who have been constantly supporting and encouraging me with all their hearts. I have been in this field since I was 16 and I feel indebt to everyone who has given me lots of love. Even when I took a break their love brought me back; and I will continue to do my best to give my love back through my work till I have the strength.

Leave a comment